Dave Egbert Living Green Radio Talk Show
 To Garden Travel's TV Series Site
 Welcome
 Home Page
 TV Promos
 TV Source Guide
 TV Stations/USA
 Global Viewing
 Appearances
 TV Guide
 About Dave
 Fire-Safe Garden Site
 Contact Dave
Dave Egbert's Garden Travels
View the Trailer
 
Listen Live at Chat about it.com
CBS Radio
Chat About It
Click here to listen to Dave live on Saturday Mornings
9-11am EST
8-10am CST
7-9am MST
6-8am PST
 
Dave Egbert's Living Green Radio
Hear Dave Live!
Saturdays
6AM-8AM PST
7AM-9AM MST
8AM-10AM CST
9AM-11AM EST
 
Healthy Life Network
Living Green Live
Every 3rd Monday
Starting 08/17/09
11-12noon EDT
10-11am CST
9-10am MST
8-9am PST
 
TV SOURCE GUIDE FOR 2009
SHOW #212
ORGANIC WILLIAMSBURG/UNUSUAL NURSERY
  • Dave visits to Colonial Williamsburg to see how "green" organic techniques of the 18th century are still in use today in their historic gardens.
  • Then Dave travels to an unusual nursery of exotic plants in Portland that makes beautiful water-saving gardens for the Northwest.
  • Dave's Favs:Sweet Pea, Snowflake Viburnum.
18TH CENTURY ORGANIC GARDENS IN HISTORIC COLONIAL WILLIAMSBURG
Dave and Don McElvey from the Colonial Garden and Nursery explored the organic tips you can take home from a visit to Historic Colonial Williamsburg. The gardens of Williamsburg express the ways that organic techniques from the 18th Century are still in use today, from soil building to frost protection.

Today we also visited the expansive formal gardens of The Governor's Palace and some of the 100 gardens within the Historic Area. Some gardens reflect the Colonial Revival style planted in the 1930's to mimic historical styles while others are the result of "landscape archaeology" that links the growing garden with actual species grown in colonial times.

Colonial Williamsburg is a dynamic living museum that highlight's this unique location in the defining of Revolutionary America and the birth of our Nation.

Colonial Williamsburg
Williamsburg, Virginia
www.history.org

While in Colonial Williamsburg, Dave and the crew were guests of Governor's Inn and the Woodlands Hotel and Suites, both part of the Resort Collection of Colonial Wiliiamsburg.
Colonial Williamsburg Resort
Governor's Inn
506 North Henry St.
Willaimsburg, VA 23185
1-800-HISTORY
Woodlands Hotel and Suites
105 Visitor Center Drive
Williamsburg, VA 23185
1-800-HISTORY
UNUSUAL NURSERY OF EXOTIC PLANTS IN PORTLAND THAT MAKES BEAUTIFUL WATER-SAVING GARDENS FOR THE NORTHWEST: CISTUS NURSERY
Sean Hogan lead us through his ground breaking micro-nursery, Cistus, near Portland , OR. There he challenges the ideas of what a Northwest landscape should look like with exotic plants from all over the world including grevillea from Australia, choice figs from the Mediterranean and hardy bromeliads from Chile. The display gardens that surround Cistus are an explosion of foliage, texture, and color that is worth the visit in itself. Situated on beautiful Sauvie Island, Cistus is open daily and there is some limited mail order also available. The displays and selection changes constantly so be sure to schedule more than one visit to find new plant delights for any type of garden, sunny or shady, wet or dry. Hogan, who worked at the world famous U.C. Botanic Garden at Berkeley, is a wealth of knowledge on plant material and author of Flora with Timber Press, www.timberpress.com.

Cistus Nursery
22711 NW Gillihan Rd.
Suavie Island, OR 97231
503-621-2233
www.cistus.com

While in Portland, Dave and the crew were guests of the Hotel DeLuxe. The Portland Hotel DeLuxe pays homage to the Golden Age of Hollywood with sophisticated interiors and exceptional service.

Hotel DeLuxe
729 SW 15th Ave.
Portland, OR 97205
866-986-8085
www.hoteldeluxeportland.com
DAVE'S FAVS
Plants seen on today's show are available at independent garden retailers throughout the country and from select sources listed below:

Japanese Snowflake Viburnum 'Summer Snowflake'
Please visit the Monrovia website to find a local retailer that offers fine handcrafted Monrovia plants. Monrovia
Sweet Pea ‘Cupani’s Original’
Renee’s Garden Seeds
6116 Hwy. 9
Felton, CA 95018
888-880-7228
www.reneesgarden.com
Water Feature Design by:
Aquascape, Inc.
www.aquascapeinc.com
Rock and gravel used for this project provided by:
Graniterock, Monterey Peninsula Concrete, and Building Supplies
1755 Del Monte Blvd.
Seaside, CA 93955
831-392-3700
www.graniterock.com
Constructed by
Alliance Land and WaterScapes
2173 San Miguel Canyon Rd.
Prunedale, CA 93907
1-888-MY-USA-POND
www.alliancewaterscapes.com
Additional information sources for today's show were provided by Pacific Horticulture.
Pacific Horticulture brings the best of West Coast gardening to readers quarterly. Learn more and subscribe at www.pacifichorticulture.org

Pacific Horticulture
 
Garden Travels at LocateTV.com
Find Garden Travels
in your area
Click on the TV icon to
insert your Zip Code
 
Dave Egbert's Awards
View our Awards
 
CRN Digital Talk Radio
Listen to CRN Shows
 
 
 
Buy Dave's Book
Dave Egbert's Small Gardens Book
 
syndicated by
Showplace
Garden Travels & Living Green A Mark Morro Big Sur Media, Inc. Production © 1999 - 2009 Big Sur Media Inc.